Vegan

So while I was at the gym, there was one of those loud businessy-sales folks types that was engaging anyone who would listen (and several who wouldn’t) in a conversation in the lockeroom. I don’t know if its a personality-domination trait that is encouraged by sales or business deals, but I’ve run into this before.

Anyway, this guy had apparently had been in a restaurant where someone involved in his conversation had been talking about how they were vegan, etc. And this business guy had shown his macho by putting said vegan in his place. The upshot of the exchange was the businessy guy confronted the vegan that how could he be so expert on this subject and yet he was happily drinking beer, which is outside of a vegan diet.

I didn’t say anything, because I didn’t actually want to talk to this guy, but it struck me as sort of curious. I had a clump of friends in college who were vegan. And my understanding is that basically aside from vegetarian fare, they food or drink should not be animal-exploitive. Effectively this means no butter, milk, cheese or honey.

Ok. I’ve brewed me some beer now and then. The predominant ingredients in beer are some form of sugar, usually a grain in various conditions of specialized decay and a handful of various spices and minerals. The only “live” ingredients I could possibly think of would be the grain at one point, and the yeast as well.

Is any of that vegan, or was this guy just an idiot?

9 Responses to “Vegan”

  1. Don’t you know? They test all their beer batches on monkeys, measuring how quickly the monkeys get drunk off of their beer. From this result, they then calculate the alcohol percentage.

    Science is my friend!

  2. cooner says:

    But … those poor little beer yeastie beasties! Who speaks for them? WHO SPEAKS FOR THEM?! …

  3. palabrajot says:

    From the Wiki on Veganism:
    Some vegans avoid cane sugar that has been filtered with bone char and will not drink beer or wine clarified with albumen, animal blood, or isinglass, because though these are not present in the final product, they are still used in the process. (snip) Vegans also avoid alcohol that contains or is “smoothened” using animal glycerine.

    It seems to be a subjective issue. I have a vegetarian friend who loves himself the seafood. I suppose technically that makes him “pescetarian”, but he gets enough weird looks as it is when folks see him getting the garden salad at Outback Steakhouse.

  4. kyhwana says:

    is one of those pescetarian vegetarians.. Which was unfortunate while I was staying with him, as i’m allergic to fish/sea food. -.-
    Although I did see him eat a CHICKEN burger at the fast food joint the car died right outside of on the way to FC06. (aka BUTTCON)

  5. the_gneech says:

    Even if it turns out to be vegan, that doesn’t mean the guy wasn’t an idiot.

    -TG

  6. catnel says:

    I could never be a vegan or vegetarian, but to each his own. (I’m still reeling on the no Honey concept… No take honey away!)

  7. prismo says:

    At what point do vegan lifestyles define an ‘animal’? Obviously it goes to the insect level with honeybees, but is yeast going too far? Course everyone has their own interpretation of the v-lifestyle, so it doesn’t surprise me that some would think beer to be exploitative, and others wouldn’t.

    And yes, sales types tend to be dominating in all conversations. You can’t sell something by letting other people take control of a situation, after all.

  8. Anonymous says:

    If the beer has been filtered then the yeast has left the brewing process and would not be present in the beverage, that said something like Hefeweizen or bottle conditioned would inherently have some yeast because that is the nature of the style.

    Use of fining agents is iffy ground because the agents are not present in the final product. They technically fall out, but considering it is animal parts that are used I would say those probably aren’t Vegan. This is mostly in English ales, here in the US we tend to use plate filters or diatomashous(spelling error) earth filters.

    So I would say most US beers are Vegan, though not all.

    Geistbear
    Certified Beer Judge (seriously)

  9. palabrajot says:

    I’m certainly no vegetarian myself, though I find myself gravitating toward lighter meats like chicken, and veggies, mostly because veg really is a healthier lifestyle, assuming you steer clear of the dirty spinach. I’m getting on in years, and can’t take a Porterhouse punch to the gut like I used to.
    I think this is why you’re apt to find more people of ‘light’ constitution at vegan markets. It’s just easier on a body. Folks who’re built like garbage disposals can eat just about anything.

    When they’re in their prime, that is. ^.^

Leave a Response